Call Myself a Writer?

November 2, 2010

NaNoWriMo Restart

Filed under: NaNoWriMo,Writing — trishtash @ 12:17 pm
Tags: ,

I started NaNoWriMo yesterday, and wrote 1840 words.  But they were the wrong ones.  The premise of this NaNovel is all wrong for me and the writing was dreary and depressing, so I’m starting again today, but I’m planning a completely different story, and writing it in a different way – for me, anyway.

When I have a work-in-progress I do 2-3 pages of warm-up writing in an A4 notebook.  I would like to do this every day, but the novelty always wears off after a few days. I do manage to stick to it during NaNo, though.  So, this morning, I was doing my warm up, and I wondered how easy it would be to write my NaNo longhand.  (I don’t call it a novel, because it isn’t.  It’s a sort of pre-novel).  After all, I love it – the look of it – and the feel of my hand drifting across the notebook page leaving lines and loops in its wake.  And it slows down my thinking, so the writing itself is different from when I type.  It may even be better, but I can’t really judge that, because I’ve never done a complete work that way.

I counted up the words on a couple of pages in my notebook and there are around 220 per page, so if I start today, and do eight pages a day, that’ll be 1760 words daily, which will amount to 51,000+ by 30th November.

The next decision I have to make is whether to type it up daily or leave it till later.  If I type it up as I go, I’d probably be tempted to edit as I type it up.  Which is A Bad Thing in NaNoWriMo, so I think I’m inclined to just count up the approximate amount I’ve written by the end, and paste the appropriate number of words from somewhere on my computer, into the NaNoWriMo word verifier at the end.  I won’t cheat, I promise.  There’s no point in cheating anyway.  I can then type it up when I get to the editing stage.

All of a sudden, I’m rather excited about (re)starting NaNoWriMo a day late.  Let’s see how it goes.  I may be back here in a day or so telling you it was A Terrible Idea. 🙂

Right!  I’m off to buy a new notebook.  Or two.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

